DIMACS SYMPOSIUM 

    TEACHING LOGIC AND REASONING IN AN ILLOGICAL WORLD

        PARTICIPANT LIST (as of 7/23/96, corrected 7/30/96)

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Key to Abbreviations:
P - Panelist/Speaker or Author
O - Symposium Organizer
M - Panel Moderator
SYLA - DIMACS Special Year on Logic and Algorithms
----------------------------------------------------------------------

*
Professor Eric G. Aaron
Computer Science Department
Upson Hall
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY   14853
aaron@cs.cornell.edu

*
Professor Perry Alexander  [P]
Department of Electrical & Computer
   Engineering and Computer Science
University of Cincinnati
PO Box 210030
Cincinnati, OH 45221-0030
perry.alexander@uc.edu

*    
Professor Eric Allender 
Department of Computer Science
Hill Center, Busch Campus
Rutgers University
New Brunswick, NJ 08903
allender@tango.rutgers.edu
(Co-chair, SYLA)

*
Dr. Vicki L. Almstrum  [P]
Department of Computer Science
Taylor Hall 5.148
University of Texas
Austin, TX 78712
almstrum@cs.utexas.edu

*
Professor Ranan Banerji  
(Emeritus at Saint Joseph's University)
7612 Woodlawn Ave.
Elkins Park, PA 19027-2911
rbanerji@sju.edu 

*
Dr. Michael Benedikt
  Temporary address (during conference):
Bell-Laboratories
Rm 2c-301a
600 Mountain Ave.
Murray Hill, NJ  07974


  Permanent address:
Bell-laboratories
1000 E. Warrenville Rd.
Naperville IL. 60566
          
708-979-9954
benedikt@research.att.com


*
Professor Kim Bruce [P]
Department of Computer Science
Williams College
Williamstown, MA  01267
kim@cs.williams.edu

*
Professor Matthew C. Clarke  [P]
Department of CS and Information Systems
University of Natal
Private Bag X01
Scottsville, 3209
SOUTH AFRICA
clarkem@unpsunl.cc.unp.ac.za

*
Professor Robert Cowen
Department of Mathematics
CUNY, Queens College
Flushing, NY 11367-0904
cowen@qcvaxa.acc.qc.edu

*
Professor Ed Dubinsky  [P]
Purdue University
Department of Computer Science
West Lafayette, IN 47907
bbf@omni.cc.purdue.edu

  Current Address:
Georgia State University
Department of Computer Science
Atlanta, GA 30303

*
Professor Viviane Durand-Guerrier  [P]
Centre Scientifique J. Fourier
B.P. n2
26901 Valence Cedex 9
FRANCE
vdurand@csjf.ujf-grenoble.fr

*
Dr. Mary Enright      [P]                                
Division of Cognitive and Instructional Science
Educational Testing Service
Princeton, NJ 08541
menright@ets.org
*

Professor Susanna Epp  [O,P,M]
Department of Mathematical Sciences
2219 N. Kenmore
DePaul University
Chicago, IL 60614
sepp@condor.depaul.edu

*
Professor Kathi Fisler  [P]
Computer Science Department
Lindley Hall
Indiana University
Bloomington, IN 47401
kfisler@cs.indiana.edu

*
Dr. Deborah Franzblau [M]
DIMACS, Busch Campus
Rutgers University
Piscataway, NJ  08855
franzbla@dmac.rutgers.edu>

*
Professor Mark Galit
303 University Ave
Newark, NJ 07102
galit@sol.essex.edu
(Essex County College and Rutgers, Newark)

*
Dr. L. R. Galminas
Dept of Mathematics, Kyser Hall
Northwestern St. Univ. of Louisiana (NSU)
Natchitoches, LA  71497
galminas@alpha.nsula.edu

*
Professor Steve Grantham  [P]
Department of Mathematics
and Computer Science
Boise State University
Boise, ID 83725
grantham@tohobit.idbsu.edu

*
Professor David Gries  [O,P,M]
Computer Science Department
Upson Hall   
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY   14853
gries@cs.cornell.edu

*
Dr. Timothy Habick                                     
Educational Testing Service
Princeton, NJ 08541
thabick@ets.org

*
Professor David Harel  [P]
Department of Computer Science
Weizmann Institute
Rehovot 76100,  Israel
harel@wisdom.weizmann.ac.il

*
Professor Peter Henderson  [O,P,M]
Department of Computer Science
SUNY Stony Brook
Stony Brook, N.Y. 11794-4400
pbh@cs.sunysb.edu

*
Professor Jim Henle   [P]
Mathematics Department
Smith College
Northampton, MA 01063
jhenle@smith.smith.edu 

*  
Professor Michael Hinchey
(NJIT and University of Limerick)
Dept. of CIS
New Jersey Institute of Technology
University Heights, Newark, NJ 07102                                   
hinchey@homer.njit.edu 
(201) 596-5750 or (609) 631-0474

*
Professor H. James Hoover  [P]
Department of Computer Science
The University of Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta
CANADA  T6G 2H1
hoover@cs.ualberta.ca

*
Professor Phokion Kolaitis  [P]
Computer Science Department
University of California/SC
Santa Cruz, CA  95064
kolaitis@cse.ucsc.edu
(408) 459 4768

*
Professor Brenda J. Latka
Department of Mathematics
Lafayette College
Easton, PA  18042
latka@lafayette.edu
(Current long-term SYLA visitor)

*
Dr. Steven Leonhardi
(Moravian College)
2423 South Court
Bethlehem, PA  18017
EAlsaker@aol.com

*  
Professor Chris Leary
Department of Mathematics
SUNY Geneseo
Geneseo, NY 14454
leary@uno.cc.geneseo.edu

*
Professor John R. Lee [P]
EdCAAD
Department of Architecture
University of Edinburgh
20 Chambers Street
Edinburgh EH1 1JZ
SCOTLAND, UK
john@cogsci.ed.ac.uk

*
Professor Daniel Leivant  [P]
Department of Computer Science
Indiana University
Bloomington, IN  47405
leivant@cs.indiana.edu

*
Dr. Vincenzo Liberatore  [P]
Department of Computer Science
Rutgers University
Hill Center, Busch Campus
New Brunswick, NJ 08903
liberato@paul.rutgers.edu

*
Professor James J. Lu  [P]
Department of Computer Science
Bucknell University
Lewisburg, PA 17837
jameslu@charcoal.eg.bucknell.edu

*
Professor Matthew McKeon  [P]
Department of Computer Science
Central Connecticut State University
New Britain, CT 06050
102005.1722@CompuServe.com

*
Dr. Stephen Mahaney
(DIMACS Assoc. Director)
DIMACS, Core Bldg., Busch Campus
Rutgers University
Piscataway, NJ  08855
mahaney@dmac.rutgers.edu

*
Professor Stephen B. Maurer
Department of Mathematics & Statistics
Swarthmore College
Swarthmore, PA 19081-1397
smaurer1@swarthmore.edu

*
Professor Cornelius Nelan  [P]
Box 421
Quinnipiac College
Hamden, CT   06513
nelan@quinnipiac.edu

*
Judith Nesbit      [P]       
Montclair Kimberley Academy
201 Valley Rd.
Montclair, NJ  07042
jnesbit@mka.pvt.k12.nj.us

*
Professor Leszek Pacholski 
(DIMACS Visitor)
Instytut Informatyki 
Uniwersytet Wroclawski
Miriama Przesmyckiego 20
51-151 Wroclaw
Poland
+ 48 71 247-365,   fax: + 48 71 251-271
pacholsk@tcs.uni.wroc.pl

*
Professor Katarzyna Paprzycka [P]
Department of Philosophy
University of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, PA 15260
paprzyck+@pitt.edu
(Note: not able to attend due to illness)

* 
Professor Rohit Parikh
(CUNY/Brooklyn and Graduate Center)
Department of Computer Science
CUNY, Brooklyn College 
Brooklyn, NY 11210                                       
parikh@broadway.gc.cuny.edu


*
Professor Juris Reinfelds   [P]
Department of Computer Science
New Mexico State University
Las Cruces, NM 88003
juris@nmsu.edu

*
Professor Fred Roberts
(DIMACS Director)
DIMACS, Core Bldg., Busch Campus
Rutgers University
Piscataway, NJ  08855
froberts@dmac.rutgers.edu 

*
Professor Piotr Rudnicki [P]
Department of Computer Science
The University of Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta
CANADA  T6G 2H1
piotr@cs.ualberta.ca

*
Professor Richard Scherl
New Jersey Inst. of Tech.
University Heights
Newark, NJ  07102-1982
scherl@cis.njit.edu

*
Professor Eric Schmutz
Math and Computer Science Dept.
Drexel University
Phily, PA
eschmutz@king.mcs.drexel.edu
302-475-0270

*
Professor Fred B. Schneider [P]
Computer Science Department
4115C Upson Hall
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY   14853
fbs@cs.cornell.edu

*
Professors Annie and John Selden  [P]
Tennessee Technological University
Mathematics Education Resources Co.
Cookeville, TN 38505
js9484@tntech.edu

*
Professor Charles L. Silver  [P]
Department of Computer Science
Southeastern Louisiana University
Hammond, LA 70402
csilver@selu.edu

*
Professor Hans van Ditmarsch  [P]
Computing Science Department
Groningen University
9700 AV Groningen
THE NETHERLANDS
hans@cs.rug.nl

*  
Professor Ron van der Meyden 
Department of Computing Science 
University of Technology 
Sydney, Australia
rmeyden@dmac.rutgers.edu
(Current SYLA visitor)

* 
Professor Moshe Vardi  [M]
Department of Computer Science
Rice University
Houston, TX 77251
vardi@cs.rice.edu
(Co-chair, SYLA)

*
Professor Frank E. Wilson
Department of Philosophy
Bucknell University
Lewisburg, PA  17837
fwilson@bucknell.edu
717-524-3507/3461.

*
Professor Ann Yasuhara  [O,P,M]
Department of Computer Science
Hill Center, Busch Campus
Rutgers University
New Brunswick, NJ 08903
yasuhara@cs.rutgers.edu