DIMACS EDUCATIONAL MODULES SERIES

Available Modules
Number Authors Module title/topic
03-1 Alexander Kheyfits, Bronx Community College (CUNY)
Contact: alexander.kheyfits@bcc.cuny.edu
Introduction to Clustering Algorithms:
Hierarchical Clustering
Module Description        Download the Module
03-2 R. S. (Chuck) Tiberio, Wellesley High School
Contact: tiberio@tiac.net
Facility Location Problems
Module Description        Download the Module
03-3   Allison Wolf, Edgewood College
Lidia Luquet, St. Mary's College
Nancy Hagelgans, Ursinus College
Marjorie Darrah, Alderson-Broaddus College
Contact: nhagelgans@ursinus.edu
Security Cameras and Floodlight Illumination
Module Description        Download the Module
03-4   Nancy Lineken Hagelgans, Ursinus College
Contact: NHagelgans@Ursinus.edu
Planar Linkages: Robot Arms and Carpenter's Rulers
Module Description        Download the Module
03-5   Steven Cosares, Hofstra University
Fred Rispoli, Dowling College
Contact: acsstc@hofstra.edu rispolif@dowling.edu
Communications Network Design
Module Description        Download the Module
03-7   Harel Barzilai, Salisbury University
Kathy Andrews, Hillsdale College
Alexander Kheyfits, Bronx Community College (CUNY)
Contact: harel@barzilai.org
A Gentle Introduction to Mathematical Cluster Analysis
Module Description        Download the Module

Online resources for further exploration
http://barzilai.org/dimacs/urls.html

04-1   Lynne L. Doty, Marist College
K. Peter Krog, Marist College
Tracey Baldwin McGrail, Marist College
Contact: Lynne.Doty@Marist.edu Peter.Krog@Marist.edu
Tracey.McGrail@Marist.edu
Probability and Chip Firing Games
Module Description        Download the Module

04-2   Stephanie Edwards, University of Dayton
Mark Ginn, Appalachian State University
John Harris, Furman University
Greg Rhoads, Appalachian State University
Contact: sedwards@udayton.edu
ginnmc@appstate.edu
john.harris@furman.edu
rhoadsgs@appstate.edu
Modeling Traffic Jams with Cellular Automata
Module Description        Download the Module

04-3   Joseph Rosenstein, Rutgers University
Deborah S. Franzblau, CUNY / College of Staten Island
Robert Hochberg, East Carolina University
Contact: joer@dmac.rutgers.edu
franzblau@postbox.csi.cuny.edu
hochberg@dmac.rutgers.edu
IN DISCRETE MATHEMATICS:
Using Discrete Mathematics in the Classroom
Module Description        Download the Module

06-1   Sally Cockburn, Hamilton College
Ben Coleman, Moravian College
R. Bruce Mattingly, SUNY Cortland
Kay Somers, Moravian College
Contact: scockbur@hamilton.edu
coleman@cs.moravian.edu
mattinglyb@cortland.edu
:mekbs01@moravian.edu
Some Problems are NP-harder than Others
Module Description        Download the Module

07-1   T. S. Michael, United States Naval Academy
Val Pinciu, Southern Connecticut State University
Contact: tsm@usna.edu
pinciuv1@southernct.edu
Art Gallery Theorems and Triangulations
Module Description        Download the Module

07-2   C. Livingston, Bemidji State University
S. Hodgins, Starkville Academy
Contact: clivingston@bemidjistate.edu
sarah.hodgins@gmail.com
Rehabilitating after a Forest Fire Voronoi Diagrams and Scheduling Algorithms
Module Description        Download the Module

07-3   John Boardman, Franklin College
Dan Hrozencik, Chicago State University
Miyeon Kwon, University of Wisconsin
Irfan Ul-Haq, University of Wisconsin
Aklilu Zeleke, Michigan State University
Contact: jboardman@franklincollege.edu
dhro@att.net
kwonmi@uwplatt.edu
ulhaqi@uwplatt.edu
zeleke@msu.edu
Using Population Models in the Teaching of Eigenvalues
Module Description        Download the Module

08-1   James D. Factor, Marquette University
Hieu D. Nguyen, Rowan University
Contact: james.factor@marquette.edu
nguyen@rowan.edu
Linkages as Applied to Protein Folding
Module Description        Download the Module-pdf
08-2   Steven Leonhardi, Winona State University
Lidia Luquet, St. Mary's College of California
Jim Sauerberg, St. Mary's College of California
Contact: sleonhardi@winona.edu
lluquet@stmarys-ca.edu
jsauerbe@stmarys-ca.edu
Reed-Solomon Codes: An Application of Linear Algebra
Module Description        Download the Module-pdf
08-3   Atif Abueida, University of Dayton
Michael Ackerman, Bellarmine University
Sul-Young Choi, LeMoyne College
Contact: Atif.Abueida@notes.udayton.edu
mackerman@bellarmine.edu
SulYoung@lemoyne.edu
Centrality and Anticentrality in Trees
Module Description        Download the Module-pdf
08-4   Teresa Contenza, Case Western Reserve University
Maureen Cox, St. Bonaventure University
Jodie Novak, University of Northern Colorado
Miranda Teboh-Ewungkem, Lafayette College
Mary Vanderschoot, Wheaton College
teresa.contenza@case.edu
mcox@sbu.edu
jodie.novak@unco.edu
tebohewm@lafayette.edu
mary.vanderschoot@wheaton.edu
Modeling Biological Populations
Module Description        Download the Module-pdf
08-5   Pallavi Jayawant, Bates College
Martha Kosa, Tennessee Tech University
Christine Shannon, Centre College
Contact:pjayawan@bates.edu
mjkosa@csc.tntech.edu
shannon@centre.edu
Reconstructing Curves from Sample Data:
Implementing Algorithms using Voronoi Diagrams and Delaunay Triangulations
Module Description        Download the Module-pdf
09-1   Karrolyne Fogel, California Lutheran University
Kay Somers, Moravian College
Angela Spalsbury, Youngstown State University
Jennifer Wilson, Eugene Lang College The New School for Liberal Arts
Contact: kfogel@clunet.edu
somersk@moravian.edu
angie@math.ysu.edu
wilsonj@newschool.edu
Geometry of Power Indicess
Module Description        Download the Module-pdf
09-2   Dina Sokol, Brooklyn College of the City University of NY
Frederick Adkins, Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Zhongyuan Che, Penn State University
Kristin Pfabe, Nebraska Wesleyan University
Contact: sokol@sci.brooklyn.cuny.edu
fadkins@iup.edu
zxc10@psu.edu
kpfabe@nebrwesleyan.edu
Finding Repeats Within Strings
Module Description        Download the Module-pdf
10-1   Kim A.S. Factor, Marquette University
Contact: kim.factor@marquette.edu
Selection of Surveillance Centers for Foot and Mouth Disease
(FMD): Wisconsin Dairy Farms
Module Description        Download the Module-pdf
10-3   Jennifer M. Franko, The University of Scranton
Rachel Schwell, Central Connecticut State University
William E. Wood, Hendrix College
Contact: frankoj2@scranton.edu
schwellrac@ccsu.edu
wood@hendrix.edu
Introducing Geometry with Spatial Scan Statistics
Module Description        Download the Module-pdf
10-4   Eliana Antoniou, William Paterson University of New Jersey
Brad Chin, West Valley College
Andrew J. Felt, University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point
Jose H. Giraldo, Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi
Miyeon Kwon, University of Wisconsin-Platteville
Kathleen Offenholley, Borough of Manhattan Community College
Irfan Ul-haq, University of Wisconsin-Platteville
Robert W. Vallin, Slippery Rock University
Contact: antonioue@wpunj.edu
brad_chin@westvalley.edu
afelt@uwsp.edu
jgiraldo@falcon.tamucc.edu
kwonmi@uwplatt.edu
kathleenoffenholley@yahoo.com
ulhaqi@uwplatt.edu
robert.vallin@sru.edu
Voting Systems
Module Description        Download the Module-pdf
Modules Under Development


Back to General Information
Page last updated: September 2, 2011.